UN Women’s Forum Supports Palestinians


Gaza woman injured in Israeli attack on civilian home, July 2014

Gaza woman injured in Israeli attack on civilian home, July 2014

The United Nations 59th Session of the Commission on Legal and Social Status of Women today adopted a resolution of support for Palestinian women, with Israel and the United States the only countries voting against it.

The document was approved at the closing the annual two-week forum which reviewed the progress and challenges of gender equality and empowerment of women 20 years after the Beijing Declaration and Plan of Action.

The initiative, supported by 27 countries, with 13 abstentions and above-mentioned two votes against, reasserts that the Israeli occupation remains the main obstacle to the advancement and self-reliance of Palestinian women as well as for integration in the development of their society.

In addition, Tel Aviv still does not accord full respect for the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the Regulations annexed to the 4th Convention of the Hague Convention, the Geneva Convention Relative to the Protection of Civilian Persons in Time of War and other global instruments protecting the rights of women.

The text adopted by the 45-member body responsible for promoting gender equality also calls upon the Israeli occupying power to facilitate the return of all Palestinian refugee women,children and displaced people to their homes.

In another article, the resolution calls on the international community, particularly Arab women, to assist them in dealing with the humanitarian crisis and the immense needs of reconstruction and recovery in the devastated Gaza Strip.

Last summer Gaza suffered 50 days of air strikes and ground incursions from troops from Tel Aviv in assaults that claimed the lives of hundreds of women.

In regard to peace and the two state solution, the Commission requested the world community renew efforts to achieve these goals.

The resolution was supported by Bangladesh, Belarus, Brazil, China, Congo, Cuba, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ghana, Guyana, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Niger, Pakistan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominican Republic, Russia, Sudan, Thailand, Tanzania, Uganda, Uruguay and Zimbabwe.

Belgium, Burkina Faso, Spain, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Holland, Jamaica, Japan, Paraguay, South Korea and Switzerland abstained.